Tuesday, March 31, 2009

News: Stratovarius to release 'Polaris' on May 26

Armoury Records (a division of Eagle Rock Entertainment) will release "Polaris," the new studio album from symphonic metallers Stratovarius on May 26.

Pioneers of progressive metal, Stratovarius blends rock influences with neo-classical passion. The album is a collection of 11 songs that thrive with powerful melodies, sophisticated arrangements, and supreme technical prowess. Vocalist Timo Kotipelto explains, “Polaris is a positive, powerful album that Stratovarius fans all over the world are certain to take to their hearts.”

Polaris was recorded in the fall 2008 at Hästholmen and 5by5 studios, in Helsinki, Finland. It was mixed by the legendary Mikko Karmila, who has a long history with the band. They hid themselves in a secluded cottage in the forests of Finland to focus on making the perfect record, and emerged with not only Polaris, but also a positive new outlook on the direction of their career.

With the addition of new guitarist Matias Kupiainen, Stratovarius (vocalist Timo Kotipelto, bassist Lauri Porra, drummer Jörg Michael, and keyboardist Jens Johansson) are ready to dominate the progressive metal empire. They will hit the road in May, embarking on an international tour that starts in Europe and ends in the States. This includes a stop at the renowned Wacken Rocks festival.

Track Listing:
1.) Deep Unknown
2.) Falling Star
3.) King of Nothing
4.) Blind
5.) Winter Skies
6.) Forever Is Today
7.) Higher We Go
8.) Somehow Precious
9.) Emancipation Part I
10.) Emancipation Part II
11.) Mountains Fall

Courtesy: Kayos Productions.

No comments:

Post a Comment